CQC report explained · a residential care home
What the CQC found at Heathfield House
Rated Requires improvement: inspectors found the home was not performing as well as it should and told it what to change.
- Safe?
- Requires improvement
- Care plans and risk assessments were not always accurate or reviewed after changes. Falls causing injury were not reported to the local authority as potential safeguarding concerns.
- Effective?
- Requires improvement
- Mental capacity assessments and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards applications were not consistently completed. Healthcare advice was not always added to care plans.
- Caring?
- Good
- No separate Caring rating was given in this focused inspection. People said they felt safe and supported, and staff understood their individual needs.
- Responsive?
- Good
- No separate Responsive rating was given in this focused inspection. People were supported to do activities they enjoyed at the home and in the local community.
- Well-led?
- Requires improvement
- Audits did not identify the problems found by inspectors. There was no effective system for investigating incidents and recording improvements.
What inspectors found, February 2024
Rated Requires Improvement; inspectors found risks in care records, safeguarding, consent and management systems.
This was an unannounced inspection on 20 December 2023. The inspector spoke with people, a relative, care staff and the registered manager. They reviewed care records, medicines records, staff recruitment files and quality checks.
The home had enough staff and people and relatives said they felt safe and supported. Medicines were mostly managed safely, people could receive visitors, and staff supported people with food, activities and healthcare.
However, care records were not always accurate or updated. Falls were not always properly reviewed, some safeguarding concerns were not reported, and required checks on new staff were delayed. Mental Capacity Act and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards requirements were not consistently followed.
The overall rating changed from Good to Requires Improvement. Safe, Effective and Well-led were rated Requires Improvement. The provider must send an action plan, and CQC will monitor progress.
Enough staff
Inspectors found enough suitably skilled staff, and staffing levels were adjusted when people's needs required it.
“People told us and we saw there were enough suitably skilled staff to support people in line with their agreed needs.” from the report
Mostly safe medicines
Medicines were mostly ordered, stored, given, recorded and disposed of safely. One storage issue involving medicines pots still needed improvement.
“We saw that medicines were mostly managed safely. This included the; ordering, storage, administration, recording and disposal of medicines.” from the report
Supportive relationships
People and relatives spoke positively about the home. Staff knew people's needs and risks, even though records were not always reliable.
“Despite this, care staff had a good understanding of people's needs and risks.” from the report
Choice and community life
People were supported to make choices about food, décor and activities, and to enjoy things both at the home and in the local community.
“People told us and care records showed they were supported to do the things they enjoyed both at the service and in the local community.” from the report
Falls and care records
seriousCare plans did not always reflect people's current needs. Falls were not always reviewed properly, so action to reduce further harm was not assured.
“When people fell, their risk of falling again was not always reviewed which meant action was not always taken to reduce the risk of harm from further falls.” from the report
Safeguarding reports
seriousFive falls involving three people caused injuries needing first aid or medical care, but none were reported to the local authority as potential omissions of care or neglect.
“None of these had been reported to the local authority as potential omissions of care/neglect as required.” from the report
Consent and liberty safeguards
seriousMental capacity assessments were missing, and people subject to restrictions did not have the required Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards applications or authorisations. One person's medicine was routinely given covertly against professional advice.
“All of these people had restrictions upon them that would be classed as a deprivation of liberty.” from the report
Management oversight
seriousQuality audits had not identified the problems found during the inspection. There was no effective system for investigating incidents and preventing them happening again.
“The auditing systems in place to assess and monitor safety and quality were not effective and had not identified the concerns detailed in this inspection report.” from the report
Recruitment checks
needs fixingReferences and DBS checks were not always completed promptly. Where checks were delayed, risk assessments were not completed.
“Where there were delays in obtaining references and/or DBS checks, risks assessments were not completed to ensure the risks associated with staff working without these checks had been assessed and managed.” from the report
Home environment
needs fixingFrayed carpets and an uneven floor in a dark corridor increased the risk of falls. These hazards were not recorded in an environmental risk assessment or improvement plan.
“Some carpets at the home were frayed and there was an uneven floor in a dark area of corridor increasing the risk of falls.” from the report
- 01What changes have you made to ensure care plans and falls risk assessments are accurate and reviewed after a fall or change in need?
- 02Have all falls involving injury now been reviewed and reported through the correct safeguarding process?
- 03Have mental capacity assessments and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards applications or authorisations been completed for everyone who needs them?
- 04What checks are now completed before new staff work at the home, and what happens if references or DBS checks are delayed?
- 05What has been done about the frayed carpets, uneven corridor floor and the lack of a service improvement plan?
This was a focused inspection planned to review Safe and Well-led, with Effective also reviewed after concerns about the Mental Capacity Act and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards; ratings for questions not inspected carried over from the 2018 inspection. This explanation was written from the published report of 2 February 2024 by an AI system and checked against the report text: every quoted line appears in the report. It is a guide to the report, not a substitute for it. Read the full report on cqc.org.uk.
What inspectors found, February 2022
Inspected but not rated; inspectors found good infection control and visiting arrangements at Heathfield House.
This was a targeted inspection on 27 January 2022. It looked at infection prevention and control, visiting arrangements, and whether staffing pressures linked to COVID-19 were affecting the home.
Inspectors found systems for safe visiting, infection control audits, cleaning of frequently touched areas, and plans for isolation and zoning. They were assured that the home was using protective equipment safely, arranging testing, and managing infection risks.
The home was meeting the COVID-19 vaccination requirement for non-exempt staff and visiting professionals. The service was inspected but not rated, so this report does not give a Good, Outstanding, Requires Improvement or Inadequate rating.
Safe visiting
The home had a system for visitors to enter safely and was following government visiting guidance.
“There was a system in place so visitors could enter the home safely, in line with government guidance.” from the report
Infection control systems
An infection prevention and control policy was in place, and audits had been completed.
“Infection prevention and control policy was in place and infection prevention and control audits had been completed.” from the report
Cleaning arrangements
The home had cleaning schedules for areas touched often, such as switches and door handles.
“Cleaning schedules were in place for high touch point areas, such as light switches and door handles.” from the report
COVID-19 precautions
Inspectors were assured that the home used protective equipment safely, arranged testing, and met the vaccination requirement for non-exempt staff and visiting professionals.
“The service was meeting the requirement to ensure non-exempt staff and visiting professionals were vaccinated against COVID-19.” from the report
Inspectors raised no specific concerns in this report.
- 01How are you currently managing staffing pressures linked to COVID-19, and have they affected people's care?
- 02How do you check that cleaning of high-touch areas, such as door handles and light switches, is completed?
- 03How do you currently arrange visits and prevent visitors from spreading infections?
- 04How are testing and protective equipment managed for people living here and staff?
- 05How would you manage isolation and zoning if someone developed an infection?
This was a targeted inspection of infection prevention and control, visiting arrangements and COVID-19-related staffing pressures; the service was inspected but not rated. This explanation was written from the published report of 10 February 2022 by an AI system and checked against the report text: every quoted line appears in the report. It is a guide to the report, not a substitute for it. Read the full report on cqc.org.uk.
Every inspection of Heathfield House
3 rated inspections over 8 years: the service has slipped, from Good to Requires improvement.
- February 2024Requires improvementcurrent ratingSafe: Requires improvementEffective: Requires improvementCaring: GoodResponsive: GoodWell-led: Requires improvement
- February 2022Inspected but not ratedSafe: Inspected but not rated
- August 2018Goodstayed GoodSafe: GoodEffective: GoodWell-led: Requires improvement
- June 2016GoodSafe: GoodEffective: GoodCaring: GoodResponsive: GoodWell-led: Good
- April 2014
Report published without a new overall rating.
- December 2013
Report published without a new overall rating.
- November 2012
Report published without a new overall rating.
- November 2010
Registered with the Care Quality Commission on 23 November 2010.
Ratings and report dates from the Care Quality Commission, Open Government Licence v3.0. A home can also be visited without a new rating being published, so the timeline shows published inspections.
Weigh the report against the rest
Fees, photos and reviews from families
How to read CQC ratings and reports
What to check when you visit
At least 100 live-in carers within about an hour of Staffordshire
These are self-employed carers on PrimeCarers, the introductory agency that runs this directory. Each has a profile with their own rates and reviews from families, and you choose who to talk to.
Most charge £980 to £1,230 a week. 85 can care for a couple. 10 years' experience on average.
“We particularly appreciate the companionship Dawn gives in the evenings when she plays cards and Scrabble with my mother.”
Every carer has had an enhanced DBS check in the last 18 months, ID and right-to-work checks and an online interview. Their skills and training are for you to check with them. Carers set their own rates, and who is free changes week to week.